I get A LOT of questions about what celiac disease is and what I can and can’t eat since being diagnosed. And I LOVE answering all of them and teaching people about the gluten free lifestyle. Of course I’m not a doctor, so if you have any specific questions about your well-being or if you think you have celiac disease, talk to your doctor.

Here are some quick facts to get your started! 

  1. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley. I can’t eat anything that includes these proteins
  2. I can eat rice (white, brown, wild, etc), corn (corn flour, corn meal, etc.), potatoes and quinoa
  3. I can not eat farro, pasta, orzo, and couscous
  4. Wheat is hidden in many marinades and sauces; for example, soy sauce is not gluten free, which is why I use Tamari gluten free soy sauce
  5. Lots of foods are naturally gluten free including chicken, beef, pork, vegetables, fish, eggs, dairy products, nuts, legumes, beans and seeds
  6. It’s fun to experiment with alternative flours including almond meal flour, hazelnut flour, coconut flour, tapioca flour, brown rice flour, white rice flour, quinoa flour, etc
  7. Cross contamination is when a gluten free item comes in contact with an item that contains gluten. If you are out to eat, is important that you specify to the staff/chef that you have an actual allergy – AKA – it’s not a preference/trend
  8. I didn’t always have celiac disease; I started getting sick and having symptoms when I was 21. I really don’t have a 100% reason why I developed celiac disease after so many years
  9. There are only a few brands of gluten free pasta that I’ll eat. To be honest, I’d rather eat another “pasta” alternative such as vegetable noodles (zucchini, summer & winter squash, carrot, turnip, beets) or spaghetti squash
  10. Some gluten free products contain more calories than average products because manufacturers put sugar into the items to make them taste better. Read all labels to know what’s in your food!